Karnataka BJP Rewards Former Rebel MLAs With Legislative Council Tickets

Karnataka BJP Rewards Former Rebel MLAs With Legislative Council Tickets

BS Yediyurappa turned Chief Minister after insurgent MLAs introduced down the Congress-JDS authorities (File)


Legislators who helped the BJP topple Karnataka’s Congress-Janata Dal Secular (JDS) coalition authorities final yr have been rewarded by the social gathering whereas selecting candidates for the elections to seven seats of the state legislative council due on June 29.

The 4 names introduced by the BJP as candidates are Prathap Simha Nayak, MTB Nagaraj, R Shankar and Sunil Valyapure.

MTB Nagaraj, previously with the Congress, is an enormously rich businessman who contested and misplaced bypolls to the Hoskote seat he had held earlier than his disqualification as MLA. He got here to nationwide consideration final June when he promised Congress leaders that he would keep loyal to the social gathering – after which inside hours hopped onto a chartered flight that took him to hitch different insurgent MLAs in Mumbai.

R Shankar was an unbiased who went forwards and backwards in his loyalties, lastly withdrawing his assist from the coalition authorities quickly after it has made him a minister. He later joined the BJP.

One other outstanding politician who switched loyalties to the BJP, former Janata Dal Secular state president, H Vishwanath, was not chosen as a candidate.

The Congress has chosen B Okay Hariprasad and Naseer Ahmed as candidates.

Earlier this February, Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa had allotted ministerial posts to 10 former Congress and JDS MLAs, largely fulfilling his authorities’s promise of rewarding those that had helped the BJP grapple its manner again to energy within the state.

Final November, the Supreme Court docket had confirmed the disqualification of 17 Karnataka MLAs whose revolt triggered the collapse of the Janata Dal Secular-Congress authorities and the following takeover by the BS Yediyurappa-led BJP. However the courtroom cancelled the Speaker’s choice to bar the insurgent MLAs from contesting polls until 2023.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top